Calendar of Seminars & Colloquia

SPRING 2014
April 14 - April 18 April 21 - April 25
April 28 - May 2 May 5 - May 9
May 12 - May 16 May 19 - May 23
May 26 - May 30 June 2 - June 6
This page contains listings of all seminar and colloquium meetings scheduled for the quarter, updated on an ongoing basis. Send seminar announcements to Rose Choi at rosechoi[at]math.washington.edu.

If an ongoing seminar has its own web page, click on the name of the seminar to visit that page.

Week of April 14 - April 18
Monday, April 14
Probability Seminar
  Infinite Systems of Competing Brownian Particles
  Andrey Sarantsev, UW

   2:30pm, MEB 248
Tuesday, April 15
CORE Seminar
   Overcoming Intractability in Unsupervised Learning
   Sanjeev Arora, Princeton University

   4:00pm, CSE 691
Rainwater Seminar
   Monotonicity formulas for minimizers with free boundary/Regularity for almost minimizers with free boundary
   Tatiana Toro, UW

   1:30/2:15pm, PDL C-401
Wednesday, April 16
Combinatorics Seminar
  Hamiltonian cycles in prisms over graphs
  Moshe Rosenfeld, University of Washington-Tacoma

   3:30pm, PDL C-401
Thursday, April 17
Grad Student Analysis Seminar
  Optimal transport and cyclical monotonicity
  Leonard Wong, University of Washington-Tacoma

  2:30pm, PDL C-401
Friday, April 18
UW-PIMS Mathematics Colloquium
   From Algebraic Geometry to Politics: How Cryptography Connects Abstract Mathematics and Everyday Life
   Dan Shumow, Senior SDE at Microsoft Research

   2:30pm, LOW 101

Back to top

Week of April 21 - April 25
Monday, April 21
 
Tuesday, April 22
Trends in Optimization Seminar
   Relaxing nonconvex quadratic functions by multiple adaptive diagonal perturbations
   Hongbo Dong, Washington State University

   4:00pm, GUG 218
Joint session of Rainwater and Probability seminar
   Random Surfaces and Quantum Loewner Evolution
   Jason Miller, MIT

   1:30pm, SMI 307
Algebra and Algebraic Geometry Pre-Seminar/Seminar
   Rational singularities and duality/Higher direct images of logarithmic canonical sheaves
   Sándor Kovács, UW

   1:30pm, PDL C-36
Wednesday, April 23
 
Thursday, April 24
Current Topics Seminar
  TBA
  Tatiana Toro, UW

   4:00pm, PDL C-36
Friday, April 25
UW-PIMS Mathematics Colloquium
   TBA
   Roman Bezrukavnikov, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

   2:30pm, LOW 101

Back to top

Week of April 28 - May 2
Monday, April 28
Probability Seminar
  Testing the Manifold Hypothesis
  Hari Narayanan, UW Statistics

   2:30pm, MEB 248
Tuesday, April 29
Algebra and Algebraic Geometry Pre-Seminar/Seminar
  Global quantum isometries of Riemannian manifolds
   Alexandru Chirvasitu, UCB

   1:30pm, PDL C-36
Trends in Optimization Seminar
   TBA
   Rina Foygel, University of Chicago

   4:00pm, GUG 218
Wednesday, April 30
Combinatorics Seminar
  Very ample and Koszul segmental fibrations
  Matthias Beck, San Francisco State University

   3:30pm, PDL C-401
Thursday, May 1
 
Friday, May 2
UW-PIMS Mathematics Colloquium
   TBA
   Steffen Rohde, University of Washington

   2:30pm, LOW 101

Back to top

Week of May 5 - May 9
Monday, May 5
 
Tuesday, May 6
Algebra and Algebraic Geometry Pre-Seminar/Seminar
   TBA
   Melody Chan, Harvard

   1:30pm, PDL C-36
Wednesday, May 7
Combinatorics Seminar
  TBA
  Karim Adiprasito, Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques

   3:30pm, PDL C-401
Differential Geometry/PDE Seminar
   A Survey of Sub-Riemannian Geometry
   Richard Montgomery, UC Santa Cruz

   3:50pm, PDL C-36
Thursday, May 8
UW-PIMS Mathematics Colloquium
   TBA
   Dan Spielman, Yale Institute for Network Science

   2:30pm, SIG 224
Friday, May 9
MathAcrossCampus
  TBA
  Dan Spielman, Yale University (Computer Science)

   TBD

Back to top

Week of May 12 - May 16
Monday, May 12
 
Tuesday, May 13
Trends in Optimization Seminar
  TBA
  Noah Simon, Department of Biostatistics, University of Washington

   4:00pm, GUG 218
Wednesday, May 14
Combinatorics Seminar
  TBA
  Erik Slivken, UW

   3:30pm, PDL C-401
Thursday, May 15
 
Friday, May 16
UW-PIMS Mathematics Colloquium
   TBA
   Victor Reiner, University of Minnesota

   2:30pm, LOW 101

Back to top

Week of May 19 - May 23
Monday, May 19
UW-PIMS Mathematics Colloquium
   TBA
   Shige Peng, Shandong University

   2:30pm, LOW 101
Tuesday, May 20
 
Wednesday, May 21
Combinatorics Seminar
  TBA
  James Propp, University of Massachusetts Lowel

   3:30pm, PDL C-401
Thursday, May 22
 
Friday, May 23
UW-PIMS Mathematics Colloquium
   Leavitt path algebras - Something for everyone: algebra, analysis, dynamics, graph theory, number theory
   Gene Abrams, University of Colorado at Colorado Springs

   2:30pm, LOW 101

Back to top

Week of May 26 - May 30
Monday, May 26
 
Tuesday, May 27
Algebra and Algebraic Geometry Seminar
   TBA
   Gene Abrams, Colorado

   2:30pm, PDL C-36
Wednesday, May 28
Combinatorics Seminar
  TBA
  Freij Ragnar, Aalto University

   3:30pm, PDL C-401
Thursday, May 29
 
Friday, May 30
 

Back to top

Week of June 2 - June 6
Monday, June 2
 
Tuesday, June 3
 
Wednesday, June 4
Combinatorics Seminar
  TBA
  Michael Goff, Vanderbilt University

   3:30pm, PDL C-401
Thursday, June 5
 
Friday, June 6
 

Back to top

"The University of Washington is committed to providing access, equal opportunity and reasonable accommodation in its services, programs, activities, education and employment for individuals with disabilities. To request disability accommodation, contact the Disability Services Office at least ten days in advance at: 206-543-6450/V, 206-543-6452/TTY, 206-685-7264/FAX, or dso[at]u.washington.edu."

 

U of W Website Terms & Conditions    |    PRINTER FRIENDLY FORMAT   |   U of W Online Privacy Statement
Please send comments, corrections, and suggestions to: webmaster[at]math.washington.edu
Last modified: April 16, 2014, 09:38

Bookmark and Share