The Department of Mathematics at the University of Washington is one of the major research mathematics departments in the United States. It has an excellent research reputation, a strong, demanding program of graduate study in mathematics, and a full range of excellent undergraduate course offerings. The department has approximately 60 faculty with research interests in virtually every area of mathematics. The department has about 100 full-time students in the graduate program and over 800 undergraduate majors, including 600 in the Mathematics undergraduate program and 200 in the joint ACMS program.

Recent Department News

Thomas Rothvoss named 2016 Packard Fellow
October 2016: Thomas Rothvoss has been named one of eighteen recipients of a 2016 Packard Fellowship in Science and Engineering by the David and Lucile Packard Foundation. The Foundation describes the fellows as among "the nation's most innovative early-career scientists and engineers," and provides generous funding so that they have "the freedom to take risks and explore new frontiers in their fields. ... The revolutionary work of these talented researchers has the ability to profoundly impact the lives of their students and all of us in the world at large."

Thomas is a 2015 recipient of a Sloan Research Fellowship and holds a joint faculty position in UW's Department of Computer Science and Engineering. The Packard citation for his award states that his "research is located in the intersection of mathematics and computer science and deals with the question of which types of computational problems can be solved efficiently by algorithms and which ones cannot. In particular, he develops techniques to find approximate solutions to computationally hard problems."
Shirshendu Ganguly named Graduate Medalist in Natural Sciences
May 2016: Graduate student Shirshendu Ganguly has been named the recipient of the College of Arts and Sciences Graduate Medal in Natural Sciences. Shirshendu, a student of Christopher Hoffman and Ioana Dumitriu, studies probability and its applications. He already has a long list of collaborators, including several mathematicians at Microsoft Research. After receiving his PhD in June, Shirshendu will go to UC Berkeley as a Miller Fellow.
Krzysztof Burdzy named Carver Medalist
April 2016: Krzysztof (Chris) Burdzy has been named the Institute of Mathematical Statistics' 2016 Carver Medalist. The medal, created by the IMS to honor Harry C. Carver, Founding Editor of the Annals of Mathematical Statistics and one of the founders of the IMS, is for exceptional service to the IMS. Chris's award recognizes his "leadership in the development and curation of electronic publications for the IMS probability community, especially for co-founding the Electronic Journal of Probability and Electronic Communications in Probability, and the Probability Abstract Service, and for sustained vigilance and dedication to ensuring the stability and open access for these publications and for serving as an informed resource for IMS on electronic issues."
Austin Stromme receives Goldwater Scholarship
March 2016: Austin Stromme, a Mathematics and Computer Science double major, has been awarded a Goldwater Scholarship from the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation. The Goldwater scholarship program is designed to foster and encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences, and engineering. Austin has been working on two research projects: one on generalized electrical networks with Professor Jim Morrow, the other on probabilistic models with finishing graduate student Matt Junge. He plans to continue his studies in mathematics after graduation, pursuing a PhD and then an academic career of teaching and research.
Christopher Hoffman named a 2016 Simons Fellow
March 2016: The Simons Foundation has announced that Christopher Hoffman is one of the 2016 Simons Fellows in Mathematics. The fellowship program, which began in 2012, is designed to provide awardees with additional sabbatical funding that can "lead to increased creativity and productivity in research." Tatiana Toro was one of the inaugural fellows four years ago, followed by Hart Smith, Gunther Uhlmann, and Sándor Kovács in subsequent years.
Bianca Viray awarded an NSF CAREER grant
March 2016: Bianca Viray has been awarded a CAREER grant under the National Science Foundation's Faculty Early Career Development Program. Bianca joined the department in the summer of 2014 after four years at Brown as an NSF postdoctoral fellow and Tamarkin Assistant Professor. She works in number theory and algebraic geometry.

Archived News


U of W Website Terms & Conditions    |    PRINTER FRIENDLY FORMAT   |   U of W Online Privacy Statement
Please send comments, corrections, and suggestions to: webmaster[at]
Last modified: October 17, 2016, 10:21

Bookmark and Share